Frequently Asked ETIAS Questions

Will UK citizens need ETIAS?

Yes. All citizens of non-EU countries that do not require a visa to travel to the Schengen zone will have to apply for ETIAS. The UK falls into this category as it is no longer part of the EU, therefore UK citizens will be required to apply for ETIAS Italy before travelling to Italy and the rest of the Schengen region.

Is ETIAS optional for UK citizens travelling to Italy?

No. It will be mandatory for UK travellers to have an approved ETIAS visa waiver for Italy to travel to Italy and any other country in the Schengen region. All transport operators will be required to verify that ETIAS eligible passengers, which includes all UK citizens, have ETIAS authorisation before they are allowed to travel to Italy.

Brexit and ETIAS

Since Brexit the UK is no longer a part of the EU, meaning UK citizens are included among those that will require ETIAS authorisation to travel to Schengen zone countries. Also included on the list of citizens that are ETIAS eligible are those from countries such as Canada and Australia. Although Gibraltar is a British Overseas Territory, it was agreed since Brexit that it would become a Schengen zone country. This means, though it is currently unconfirmed, UK citizens will likely require Italy ETIAS to travel to Gibraltar.

When will ETIAS be enforced?

The exact date is not yet confirmed, but the system will become operational sometime in 2025, with a six-month transition period. Once the scheme comes into force, all of those who are ETIAS Italy Application eligible will required to have an approved application before travelling to the Schengen zone.

How much will ETIAS cost?

It is expected that applicants will be required to pay a nominal fee of around £6, although this amount could change before the launch of ETIAS for Italy. We will remain aware of any changes to this and update our website accordingly. Applicants who are under 18 or over 70 may apply with no charge.

Get Notified When ETIAS Becomes Mandatory!